Links

End to End Encryption User Guide

When E2E is enabled on your workspace, users can create encrypted rooms and send encrypted messages.
IMPORTANT: E2E encryption functionality is currently in beta and includes notable restrictions that workspace owners should carefully consider before activating this feature for production use as follow:
  • E2E encrypted messages will not appear in search operations.
  • Bots or other ancillary systems interacting via webhooks or REST API cannot read E2EE encrypted messages.
  • File uploads are not encrypted.
  • Rocket.Chat enables users to reset their private E2E key to avoid permanent data loss during the beta period.

Getting started

To use E2E Encryption, your Rocket.Chat workspace administrator must turn on the End to End Encryption feature.

Set E2E Encryption Password

If E2E Encryption is enabled on your workspace, you see a banner notifying you to Enter your E2E Password.
  • Click on the banner
  • A modal is displayed with your password.
  • Copy and store the password securely. You'll need it when using Rocket.Chat on another device.
  • Confirm by clicking on I Saved My Password.

Changing Encryption Password

To change your Encryption password,
  • Click your avatar and select My Account.
  • Navigate to Security > E2E Encryption.
  • Set the new encryption password
  • Click Save changes.

Starting an End to End Conversation

To create an End to End Encrypted room,

Convert an existing room to use End to End encryption

It must be a private room.
To convert an existing room to an encrypted room,
  • Make sure you have entered your E2E Encryption password.
  • Click the three dots icon at the menu bar of the channel.
  • Click Enable E2E or Disable E2E

FAQ

How can I tell if the room is encrypted?
If the room is using End to End Encryption you should see a key icon by the channel name.
How can I tell if a message is encrypted?
You will see a key icon by the username.
Rocket.Chat versions receive support for six months after release.