--- title: "Rocket Chat Channel Actions Explained" slug: "channel-actions" description: "Explore channel actions in Rocket Chat. Manage secure communications, roles, and collaboration effectively." updated: 2026-04-24T11:24:07Z published: 2026-04-24T17:02:28Z canonical: "docs.rocket.chat/channel-actions" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.rocket.chat/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Manage Channels This guide explains how to view, edit, and manage channels in Rocket.Chat. The actions available depend on your assigned permissions. ## View or edit channel information To view or edit a channel’s information: 1. Open the channel and click the **Room Information** ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/6ae79a05-7252-45d0-96e8-8f375e07b1b2/Images/Documentation/image(243).png)icon in the header. 2. In the **Channel Info** panel, you can: - Click **Hide** to remove the channel from your sidebar. It will reappear when someone sends a new message or if you search for it in the [**Directory**](/v1/docs/your-rocketchat-account). - Click **Edit** to update the [channel’s information](/v1/docs/channels#channel-information) such as its name, topic, or privacy options. - Access **Advanced settings** to manage security, permissions, hiding system messages, or [message pruning](https://docs.rocket.chat/v1/docs/retention-policy). See the [Channel information](https://docs.rocket.chat/docs/channels#channel-information) for more details. 3. Click **Save** to apply changes. ### Leaving or converting a channel From the **kebab menu (⋮)** option in the Channel info panel, you can perform several actions related to channel management: - **Leave**: Exit the channel. Note that a channel owner cannot leave until they assign another member as the new owner. - **Move to Team**: Add the channel to an existing team. Once moved, the channel becomes part of that team’s channel list. > [!NOTE] > See the [**Manage Team Channels**](https://docs.rocket.chat/docs/manage-team-channels) guide for a detailed guide on moving channels between teams. - **Convert to Team**: Transform the channel into a team. All current channel members are retained, and the channel becomes the team’s main discussion channel. - **Delete**: Permanently remove the channel and all its content. This action requires the appropriate [delete permissions.](https://docs.rocket.chat/v1/docs/permissions) #### Alternative ways to leave a channel - Use the `/part` or `/leave` command in the message box. - On mobile, tap the channel name, then select **Leave**. ## Other channel options In addition to editing a channel, you can manage and interact with it using several options: - **Room options**: To perform actions like muting, hiding, or leaving a channel, see the [Room Options](/v1/docs/room-options) guide. - **Manage members**: To add, remove, ban/unban or update channel members, see the [Manage Room Members](/v1/docs/manage-room-members) guide. - **Assign roles**: To give members specific roles to control communication and collaboration, see the [Room Roles](https://docs.rocket.chat/docs/room-roles) guide. - **Manage rooms**: For administrators, configure additional room settings, see the [Manage Rooms](/v1/docs/manage-rooms) guide.