--- title: "Rocket Chat Data Loss Prevention Guide" slug: "data-loss-prevention-user-guide" description: "Learn how to configure data loss prevention in Rocket Chat. Protect secure communications and ensure compliance." tags: ["Premium"] updated: 2026-04-09T02:26:00Z published: 2026-04-09T02:26:00Z canonical: "docs.rocket.chat/data-loss-prevention-user-guide" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.rocket.chat/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Data Loss Prevention User Guide ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/6ae79a05-7252-45d0-96e8-8f375e07b1b2/Images/Documentation/Premium(1).svg) In its simplest terms, data loss prevention (DLP) is a security mechanism that helps ensure that sensitive data is not unduly shared, misused, lost, or accessed by unauthorized users. Rocket.Chat's DLP app includes several controls to prevent data loss, such as restricting access to sensitive information, monitoring data transfers, and detecting and blocking potentially dangerous activities. If there is any Rocket.Chat [room](/v1/docs/rooms), where sensitive information like credit card details, phone numbers, and IP addresses is being exchanged between users, you can prevent or restrict the sharing of this sensitive information using the DLP app. To get the DLP app functioning on your workspace, you need the workspace administrator to install and configure the DLP app from the [Rocket.Chat marketplace](/v1/docs/rocketchat-marketplace). [Data Loss Prevention (DLP) App](/v1/docs/data-loss-prevention-dlp-app) ## Using the Data Loss Prevention app With the app installed and fully configured, the defined rulesets take effect. For example, users may be restricted from sharing sensitive information, such as credit card numbers and phone numbers. If a user wants to share credit card details with another user in a room, - The DLP app picks up this message and replaces the sensitive data with `###`. Clicking on **More Info** details the message and its current status. - Based on the app configuration, the app's bot user `dlp.bot` notifies the specified channel about sharing sensitive details. - Channel moderators can then view the request and select the **Accept** or **Reject** option for the message in the **Moderator Channel**. If the message is accepted, it is displayed as usual. If the message is rejected, it is replaced by the custom rejected message defined in the app configuration.