Edit a Team

To edit a public or private team:

  • From the top-right menu, Click Team Information icon to view Team information.

  • Click Edit to edit the Team information.

  • Update the Team information.

  • Click Save.

Other Team Edit Actions

Some additional edit actions for a team include:

Password Access

Secure a team by setting up password access. It means users can only join the team with a valid password.

Hide System Messages

Select the Rocket.Chat action alerts to hide. For example—"Hide User Joined messages" will hide the alert that shows up in the chat whenever a new user joins the team.

Allow Reacting

Select the options to allow authorized team members to react to messages in the team.

The delete and reset option is also available when editing a Team.

Hide or Leave a Team

  • To Hide or Leave a team, click the three dots icon next to the delete button in the Team Information page.

  • Select Hide or Leave from the dropdown options.

  • To unhide a team, you may search for it in your Rocket.Chat workspace.

When leaving a team, you have the option to decide if you want to continue in the Team channels or not.

Delete A Team

Once you delete a team, the associated chat content and configurations will also be deleted. You also have the option to keep or delete team channels. If you delete a team and decide to keep the channels, those will go to the workspace. A team can only be deleted by the team owner.

  • Click the Team Information icon, then click Delete.

This action can not be undone.

Archive A Team

When a team is archived, it is converted to read-only and is no longer open to any new activity. However, the message history is still accessible. A team can only be archived by the team owner.

  • From the top-right menu, Click Team Information icon to view Team information.

  • Click Edit to edit the Team information.

  • Toggle on the Archive option.

To unarchive a team, toggle off the Archive option.

Star Messages in a Team

You can always star important messages in a team to easily find them later. Starred messages are identified by a small star ⭐ by the side.

To star a message,

  • Click the three-dot icon when you hover over the message. Then, select Star.

To un-star a message,

  • Click the three-dot icon when you hover over the message. Then, select Remove Star.

To view all stared messages,

  • Click on the three-dot icon of the Team menu bar and select Starred Messages. A list of all stared messages is displayed.

Last updated

Rocket.Chat versions receive support for six months after release.