Permissions
Rocket.Chat has a vast and customizable permissions system. Most of the actions a user can make require certain permission so you can customize what users can do and see.
To access this menu,
  1. 1.
    Go to Administration > Permissions
as shown below:
Permission changes are immediate and transparent. Users do not need to log out, log in, or refresh to change permissions.

Roles

A Role is a set of permissions that can be given to users. Rocket.Chat already comes with a set of default roles that can be edited. You can also create new roles for users.
When someone is registered in a Rocket.Chat server, they will normally receive the user. If the user is a bot or a guest from a livechat channel, it can receive different roles. Also, the first user of a server always receives the role of admin.
Roles can have different scopes. Currently, we have two scopes Users and Subscriptions. The permissions of the Users roles are valid for the whole server, while the Subscriptions roles only apply to individual channels, where a user has to be elected to that role in that channel.
An example of Users role would be an admin, that have permissions valid for the whole server, while a moderator that have a Subscriptions role would have permissions only in a channel that they were elected for that role.
Also, by default roles are shown as little tags on the side of a username on messages.

Default Roles

  • admin (Users) - Have access to all settings and administrator tools.
  • moderator (Subscriptions) - Have moderation permissions for a channel. Has to be elected by a channel owner.
  • owner (Subscriptions) - Have owner permissions for a channel. When a user creates a channel they become the owner of that channel. They can also elect more owners for that channel.
  • user (Users) - Normal user rights. Most users receive this role when registering.
  • bot (Users) - Special Role for bot users, with some permissions related to bot functionality.
  • leader (Subscriptions) - it doesn't have any special permissions, but is used when setting a leader to a channel. Leaders appear on the header of a channel.
  • anonymous (Users) - unauthenticated users that access the server when the Allow Anonymous Read setting is activated.
  • guest (Users) - anonymous users that want to write and participate in channels when the Allow Anonymous Read and Allow Anonymous Write settings are activated.
  • livechat-agent (Users) - Agents of livechat. They can answer to livechat requests.
  • livechat-manager (Users) - Manager of livechat, can manage agents and guests.
  • livechat-guest (Users) - Users coming from a livechat channel.

Permissions Available

Permission
Purpose
access-mailer
Permission to use the Mailer Tool. Accessible from Administration -> Mailer.
access-permissions
Permission to create and edit roles and permissions. Accessible from Administration -> Permissions.
add-oauth-service
Permission to manage different OAuth services and apps. Accessible from Administration -> OAuth Apps.
add-user-to-any-c-room
Permission to add a user to a public channel.
add-user-to-any-p-room
Permission to add a user to a private channel.
add-user-to-joined-room
Permission to add a user to a joined channel.
api-bypass-rate-limit
Permission to call api without rate limitation. See Rate Limiter.
archive-room
Permission to archive a channel.
assign-admin-role
Permission to promote user to Admin. Requires view-user-administration permission. Accessible from Administration -> Users.
assign-roles
Permission to assign roles for a user. Requires view-user-administration permission. Accessible from Administration -> Users.
auto-translate
Permission to use the Auto Translate Tool. Accessible from Administration -> Message -> Auto Translate.
ban-user
Permission to ban a user.
bulk-create-c
Permission to bulk create public channels.
bulk-register-user
Permission to bulk add users.
call-management
Permission to start a meeting. Requires Video Conference -> BigBlueButton enabled. Accessible from More -> BBB Video Chat -> Start Meeting.
clean-channel-history
Permission to prune a channel's messages and/or files.
clean-group-history
Permission to prune a group's messages and/or files.
clean-direct-history
Permission to prune direct messages and/or files.
close-livechat-room
Permission to close your own live chat channels.
close-others-livechat-room
Permission to close other live-chat channels.
Export as PDF
Copy link